Untitled 1  
Untitled 1

Untitled 1
Island Magic Wrap Up‏

The 6th and penultimate round of the Australian National Formula Ford Championship was held last weekend at the iconic Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit. It was an exciting weekend, delivering phenomenal results for my debut in the National Championship after stepping up from state competition. The massive 32 car grid was the largest the class had seen for years and provided tight competition from the best Australian and international drivers, including 2 of America’s top young racers. It was the biggest race weekend of my career to date, and I was ecstatic to perform so well. I’m especially grateful to everyone who has supported me and assisted my development throughout my rookie year in Formula Ford.

Qualifying started off amazingly fast, I was running in 3rd for most of the session before getting pipped by one hundredth of a second in the very last lap. I was still extremely happy being able to put the Bosch Car Service Centre Formula Ford in a career best 4th position for qualifying (2nd out of the 4 car Sonic team). The qualifying time played a crucial part in my success for the weekend – especially with the large number of cars in the field. Being able to start from the second row on the grid enabled me to drive amongst Australia’s quickest drivers and learn from their racing skills.

Race 1:
After a great performance in qualifying, I got a ripping start in race 1 moving up into 3rd position on the opening lap. The top 6 cars were very tightly competitive and after a hard fought race I was able to bring it home in 6th position.

Race 2:
The finishing position of race 1 determined the starting position for Sunday’s race 2. After another brilliant start from 6th position on the grid, I made my way up to 4th on the opening lap. With strong car pace, setting the fourth quickest lap time during the race, I made a move for 3rd position on the final lap. Unfortunately this didn’t pan out as I’d wanted, resulting in a 6th position finish.

Race 3:
After such great results in the first two races my goal for the final race was a top 5 finish. With yet another good start I quickly made 5th position, running nose to tail with the front 4. It was a tough race with some top competitive driving, I dropped into 6th position but had great speed. A decisive move around the outside on the last lap claimed 5th position for me. It was an awesome race and I was ecstatic to finish in 5th for the round in my debut of the National category!

It was a fantastic way to finish my rookie year in the category, showing great promise for the year ahead! My impressive results showed my ability to step up and race against such high calibre drivers, proving that I have what it takes to compete at the next level.
Thankyou to everyone who has shown their support throughout the year and played a part in my success and development. I would like to extend a special thank you to Bosch Car Service Centre Darwin, The Carbine Club Darwin, CCD Electrical and NT Welding for their support during my first season racing Formula Ford. I would especially like to thank the wonderful crew at Team Sonic Motor Racing Services. They have kept me keenly focused on improving my racing style, technical understanding and race strategy with great results.
I look forward to sharing continued success with you all next year.





Untitled 1